The Decision

Well, my daughter began kindergarten this school year after much research and I decided that I would register her at four years old. At the beginning of September, she was two months shy of being five years old. I wavered because being an educator I noticed when children that were younger than their peers were in my classroom they did not perform as well as their older peers–sometimes. I would have to say that sometimes it made no difference at all and that there seemed to have been many factors as to why the inconsistencies/deficiencies existed.

I rationed. I reasoned. I justified. Still I had no answer. I questioned as to whether I wanted her to begin kindergarten to satisfy my own needs or had I truly believed she was ready. The state department of education believed she was not. Having an issue with “the educational authority” making the decision for me, I searched for a school that would take her at the age of 4.10. Ha! I did just that and it was MUCH easier than I thought.

So now that she has been in kindergarten for a little over two mouths I am proud to say that she is reading, spelling and writing. She is also a great mathematician. There are some things that I noticed that are deficient (but who doesn’t have deficiencies??). However, those deficiencies are a part of her make up. She has some speech and language issues but none of them are hindering her educational growth.

As a family unit, we (Mom, Dad and siblings) are so proud of her. Everyday, she is making progress. We decided that she probably needed to go slowly at first instead of full immersion. After careful thought it was agreed that we made the right decision and that we couldn’t be happier. Did I mention that she is homeschooled??

Leave a Reply

