New Hair Care Regimen

So I am constantly on the search for ways to define and maintain my curls and up until now I have been pretty UNHAPPY {insert sadface}. So just like any other natural hair diva, I looked at YouTube videos and read blog after blog. I found some things and decided to try them. Afterall, what I was doing left me unsatisfied to say the least. I had even gotten to the point of contemplating using heat methods to straighten my tresses. (Note: I have not applied any heat to my hair in over four months but have been natural for years.) just so that I could present myself according to the standards of being groomed for both a job interview as well as court.

So today was the day (that’s what I kept telling myself). So here are the detes:

Prepoo: VO5 Moisture Milk and EVOO and let it sit without a cap (I forgot the cap. lol. I was yapping on the phone prior to applying and then started to mix the rest of my products).

20120622-002414.jpg

Moisturizing Scalp Massage: 2 parts brown sugar to two parts VO5 shea cashmere moisturizing conditioner and brown sugar. Massage scalp with this mixture and it felt pretty good. Rinse well. (My rationale was that it would loosen dead skin and debris.)

20120622-002514.jpg

Baking Soda Cleansing: 1 quart hot water, 1/4 c. baking soda and 1/4 c. brown sugar. Add baking soda and sugar to water and mix or shake until dissolved. Cool prior to use. (Test temperature on the inside of your wrist to avoid injury). Apply liberally to hair and scalp, shaking first if necessary. Massage into scalp and hair then rinse well. This left my hair feeling really clean. There was no product residue remaining on my strands.

20120622-002859.jpg

This step was my absolute favorite part of it all!! Apple Cider Vinegar Rinse
3/4 c. water, 1/4 c. apple cider vinegar, 2 T. aloe vera gel, 1 T. honey, 8 drops peppermint oil, 8 drops tea tree oil. Combine The ingredients (I used an empty water bottle) and shake well. After cleansing, squirt all over scalp and hair. Allow it to sit for a few minutes and enjoy the tingle. (DID I EVER!!!! My daughter even walked by me and stated that I smelled good. Hmmm…) Rinse well. (You may use more to combat the harsh apple cider vinegar scent if you’d like. Smell your concoction, it should be somewhat pleasingly minty, but will still have a slight vinegar undertone.)

Deep Conditioning: I used warmed VO5 Shea Cashmere Moisturizing Conditioner to deep condition with a capful of EVOO added to the conditioner and allowed it to penetrate my tresses for an hour or so. After which, I rinsed well.

Styling: Eco Styler Olive Oil Styling Gel was applied to the curls that had been pronounced due to the level of care previously given (and I was shocked to see my curls so defined with minimal frizz). I proceeded to gel my fingertips and run the product on the curls that were already formed being careful as to not separate of manipulate to ensure that there would be much frizz or tangling. I applied EVOO and allowed my hair to air dry.

I was satisfied!!! My curls were visible and I received lots of compliments. I must say that I am still going to try to figure out how to eliminate “the crunch” from the gel. Maybe it will subside after a few days. We’ll see! Overall I am elated and think this regimen is a keeper.

20120622-002951.jpg

20120622-003023.jpg

20120622-003054.jpg

Sorry!! for the poor quality of the pics of my hair. I took them while sitting at the computer so that I would have documentation.

Thank you for taking the time to take this small step with me on this journey!

Leave a Reply

